Media Ethics: Using the Library Databases
Finding Research Articles
The library provides access to several research databases that you can use to find articles for your assignments. If you have questions about using the library databases, please ask! Use one of the options in the Ask the Library box on this page.
Click here to access the library databases
Here are some basic tips for finding articles in the library databases:
- Select Full Text.
- This limits your search results to articles IW pays for. If you don't select Full Text, your search results will include articles that we don't have.
- If you are required to use a scholarly/academic/peer reviewed article then select Peer Reviewed.
- If you are required to use an article that is less than 5 or 10 years old, you can select the number of years in the drop down. In our example below, we selected Past 5 years to see articles published within the past 5 years.
Use a subject search to help narrow down your search results!
Look for the Advanced Search link under the search box. You will find this on the main search page and on your results page.
With Advanced Search you now have multiple search boxes. This can help you break up your search, especially if you're using the search strategy at the top of this page.
You can also choose to do a Subject Search. In the drop down next to your search terms, you can change the setting from All Fields to Subject Terms. See the screenshot below. This tells the database that you would like articles where your search term is the main subject or main focus. It will help eliminate articles that only briefly discuss your topic.
Videos: How to Search the Library
Logging in from Off-Campus
When you access our EBSCO databases, you may be asked if you would like to log in (Continue personalized). If you select continue you will be logged in to EBSCO, which will allow you to save articles, organize articles into folders and save your search history. If you choose skip this, you can still use the databases, you just can't use the personalized tools.
If you are trying to access Gale databases from off campus or while using your phone as a hotspot, you may be asked to log in. Do not enter a password in the box. Instead, click Sign in with Microsoft. This will log you in using your Authenticator.
Ask the Library!
Contact the Library
Phone: 712-325-3478
Email: cyberlibrary@iwcc.edu
Ask a Librarian
Questions about formatting, citations, or finding sources?
Schedule an in-person or Zoom meeting with library staff by clicking the Schedule Appointment button.