Dental Hygiene & Dental Assisting: Citing Library Databases

When citing articles found in the library database, APA does not require the name of the database. But, your instructor requires a link to the article in the database. Look for a Share or Get Link button on your article page.

References:

• Author names are always formatted as Lastname, comma, then their initials.
  • Do not use full first names.
  • Periods and spaces separate first and middle initials. 
  • Commas are used the separate different authors.
• Article titles are written sentence style, which means you capitalize like you are writing a sentence. Capitalize the first word and any proper nouns in the title.
• Journal Titles use the formal capitalization (like the name of a book or movie) and they are italicized.
• Note where periods and commas separate pieces of information. 

Examples:

Authors. (year of publication). Article title (capitalized sentence style). Magazine Title (italicized), volume (and issue number, if available), page numbers. Link to article

Enos, G. (2024). Coalition broadens mental health training for criminal justice professionals. Mental Health Weekly, 34(29), 1–7. https://research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=92fb0046-f232-396c-9089-e948f5bf898c

When citing articles found in the library database, APA does not require the name of the database. Your instructor will require a link to the article in the database. Look for a Share or Get Link button to get a link to your article.

References:

• Author names are always formatted as Lastname, comma, then their initials. Do not include full first names. Commas are used the separate different authors if there is more than one author.
• Article titles are written sentence style, which means you capitalize like you are writing a sentence. Capitalize the first word and any proper nouns in the title. They are also italicized.
• Include the name of the newspaper, capitalized the formal way (like a movie, book, or show is capitalized) AND italicized. 
• Note where periods or commas separate pieces of information. 
• *We can't do a hanging indent on this page but be sure to include it in your final version.

Examples:

Authors. (date of publication). Article title (capitalized sentence style). Magazine/NewspaperTitle (italicized). Link to article

Carey, B. (2019, Marc 22). Can we get better at forgetting? The New York Times. https://research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=7bfcf5f4-9903-31c4-b1ea-f0dbe1440035

When citing articles found in the library database, APA does not require the name of the database or a link to the article. BUT, your instructor may require that you include a link to the article. Be sure to check your assignment instructions.

Reference Page

• Author names are always formatted as Lastname, comma, Initials. 
  • Do not include full first names.
• Book titles are italicized and capitalized sentence style.
  • Sentence style capitalization means you capitalize the first word, proper nouns (names & places) and the first word in a subtitle (after the : colon).
• Note where periods and commas separate pieces of information. There is no period after the DOI
• The copyright and publisher information can be found on the title and copyright pages near the front of the book

Author. (year). Title italicized and capitalized sentence style. Publisher. DOI

Silo, L. M. (2010). The turquoise ledge: A memoir. Viking Books. https://doi.org/11111

In-Text Citation

(Last name, year)

(Silo, 2010)