Faculty Guide: Library Resources: Business Databases
Gale Business Insights
Gale Business: Insights provides an extensive collection of business intelligence, combining Gale reference content with respected business sources and full-text periodicals to help researchers understand today’s global business environment. Users can access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles to stay current with the ever-evolving business landscape.
- Company Hubs: Company research is streamlined so researchers can easily explore private and public companies. Company Hubs provide detailed information, including company history, hierarchy, financial data, relevant news and journal articles, and additional resources.
- Company Financials: With detailed data, users can visualize the financial health of companies. Researchers can review financial statements over multiple periods, and view and download competitive comparisons.
- Comparison Tools: Market research is made interactive with Comparison Tools. Encourage learners to analyze business information by company, industry, and country, comparing a broad range of data to develop key insights.
- Accessibility: Offer accessibility for all users with in-platform options to adjust text, listen to content, and translate articles.
Students can access the business databases from the library page in ROC.
EBSCO Small Business Source
Small Business Source offers a collection of state-specific resources with demographic data and other information to meet the needs of small business owners and entrepreneurs. Many of the full-text reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. Business videos include interviews, lessons learned, lectures and how-to tips to foster success in all aspects of managing a business.
Subjects Include
- Starting and growing a business
- Writing a business plan
- Marketing a business
- Managing employees
- Going green
- Conducting business on the internet
- Understanding legal information
- Selling a business
Students can access the business databases from the library page in ROC.
Logging in from Off-Campus
When you access our EBSCO databases, you may be asked if you would like to log in (Continue personalized). If you select continue you will be logged in to EBSCO, which will allow you to save articles, organize articles into folders and save your search history. If you choose skip this, you can still use the databases, you just can't use the personalized tools.
If you are trying to access Gale databases from off campus or while using your phone as a hotspot, you may be asked to log in. Do not enter a password in the box. Instead, click Sign in with Microsoft. This will log you in using your Authenticator.