APA eBook from a Library Database
When citing articles found in the library database, APA does not require the name of the database or a link to the article. BUT, your instructor may require that you include a link to the article. Be sure to check your assignment instructions.
Reference Page
- Author names are always formatted as Lastname, comma, Initials.
- Do not include full first names.
- Book titles are italicized and capitalized sentence style.
- Sentence style capitalization means you capitalize the first word, proper nouns (names & places) and the first word in a subtitle (after the : colon).
- Note where periods and commas separate pieces of information. There is no period after the DOI
- The copyright and publisher information can be found on the title and copyright pages near the front of the book
Author. (year). Title italicized and capitalized sentence style. Publisher. DOI
Silo, L. M. (2010). The turquoise ledge: A memoir. Viking Books. https://doi.org/11111
In-Text Citation
(Last name, year)
(Silo, 2010)
APA EBSCO Database Cite Button
The library databases have a Cite button that will do your Reference entry for you. BUT, they do come with a warning that tells you to double check before you use them. As with online citation generators, they can have errors. We will show you how to use the Cite button and where to find the information so you can check that it is correct. The citation button is a great shortcut, as long as you can spot the errors!
Here is an example from an EBSCO database. Some of the article information is at the top of the page. You may have to scroll down a bit to find the volume, issue, and page numbers.
Most citation generators mess up on the capitalization of the article title. Can you spot the error?
APA Gale Database Cite Button
The library databases have a Cite button that will do your Reference entry for you. BUT, they do come with a warning that tells you to double check before you use them. As with online citation generators, they can have errors. We will show you how to use the Cite button and where to find the information so you can check that it is correct. The citation button is a great shortcut, as long as you can spot the errors!
Here is an example from a Gale database (Opposing Viewpoints). The article information appears at the top of the article page.
Ask the Library!
Contact the Library
Phone: 712-325-3478
Email: cyberlibrary@iwcc.edu
Ask a Librarian
Questions about formatting, citations, or finding sources?
Schedule an appointment with library staff by clicking the Schedule Appointment button.
When is the library open? Find our hours here.